Manage User Groups

A User Group defines access and modification rights to Aligned Elements.

When creating a new Project, Aligned Elements automatically adds a User Group called Administrator which has maximum rights.

A User Group cannot be removed once it has been saved.

There are essentially two types of rights:

  • Document Object Type Rights - governing actions for a particular Document Object Type

  • General Rights - governing access to a particular set functions in Aligned Elements

Document Object Type Rights

Document Object Type Rights governs the access rights the Document Objects of the particular type. The rights to set are Create, Modify, Disable, Read and Add Trace.

Not having Read rights implies that none of any existing objects of the type are displayed to the user nor is any hint of the existence of that Document Object Type in any other function.

Add Trace rights governs adding and removing outgoing traces to Document Objects of the type.

Attributes having been configured as ReadOnly are not affected by the User Group rights. They are always ReadOnly, regardless of any User Group settings.

Modifying Access Rights to Attributes

Per default, the User Group has modification rights to attribute Values. By clicking on Add Modification, it is possible to restrict modification rights on attribute level. Use this function to restrict the User Group's modification rights.

Restricting selection of particular values for EnumAttributes (Dropdowns)

When restring access to EnumAttributes, the restriction can be further refined to either:

  • restricting access to the attribute completely

  • preventing members of the User Group to set a particular value

General Type Rights

The General Type Rights governs the access to a particular function set i.e. a User Group not having access to Query Management implies that members of that User Group cannot create, edit, remove or run Queries.

How to create a new User Group

Click on the button New User Group to create a new User Group. You are prompted to select a name for the User Group.

The User Group name must be unique within the Project.

The new User Group is automatically assigned maximal rights. You can click in the checkboxes to remove and restrict rights to the new User Group.

Click on the column headers to select all checkboxes in a given column.

When completed, click Save to store the new User Group.

Export User Group

It is possible to export the user groups to file. In the User Group Management select a user group and click Export User Group. This will create a file for the currently selected user group with the naming convention UserGroup@<ProjectName>@.urg containing the user group definition. These files can later be imported in different project.

Import User Group

To import user groups, in the User Group Management click Import User Group and select a valid .urg file.

The import form displays if a user group with the same name already exists. If you continue with the import this will result in overwriting the existing user group shall with the data in the file.

If an imported user group contains User Rights associated with Document Object Types that does not exist in the target project, those User Rights will not be imported.

If an imported user group lacks User Rights associated with Document Object Types that exist in the target project but did not exist in the source project, those User Rights will be added with maximum permission.