Project Hierarchy

Working with Linked Projects

Projects can be linked to each other in a hierarchical structure to allow the re-use of documentation common in multiple products.

The standard scenario is to create documentation for components (in Module Projects) and refer to the documentation in these components through traces from a Master Project (that represents a Product or System) to one or more Module Projects.

When a Master Project is opened, all linked projects are automatically loaded as well. The Project Explorer displays the Document Object books of the Master Project.

To switch to a linked project, use the Project dropdown in the Project Explorer.

To link a Master Project to a Module Project, select Add/Remove button to select the project you want to link to.

Note! It is not possible to create circular linked-project structures.

The hierarchy of linked projects can be of arbitrary depth. The project linking hierarchy is displayed when clicking Project Hierarchy in the Navigation Bar.

Note! To access a Master Project and its Module Projects, you have to use credentials for the project in question. If the credentials in the sub project are identical with those in the master project, you will be automatically logged in.

It is possible to create traces from the Master Project to your Linked projects (e.g.: You can trace a requirement in Product 1 to a specification in sub module A.) and vice versa.

Note! Traces from master projects to sub projects are not automatically updated to the latest state of the document objects in the linked projects. Consequently, you have to manually update traces to these document objects every time the document objects in the sub project changes.

The Project Settings contains an option to configure the system to automatically update the traces between linked projects.

The Trace Explorer provides the function Trace to the latest revisions. Linked projects are ignorant of the traces from master project. Traces from master project will not appear in linked projects when the linked project is opened separately. This also applies to traces from linked projects to their master project.

To unlink a project, select the Add/Remove button for the project to unlink and click Save to store the new state.

Note! Traces from a master project to any unlinked projects still exist but are not displayed after the project has been unlinked.

Branching and Merging Projects

Branching

Aligned Elements projects can be branched in order to create an independent line of the documentation.

When triggering a branch from the Action dropdown menu , a new Aligned Elements Project will be created. The user must select the types of Document Objects that shall be copied from the origin to the branch project. The branch project will then contain the latest revisions of Document Objects of the selected Document Object types.

At branching, Project History events are added to both the origin and the branch projects to record the branch action. The branch project will indicate the name of the origin project in the lower left corner of the application.

Note that the following restrictions apply when branching a project. The branch project will not contain the following elements form the origin project:

  • Test Runs

  • Signatures

  • Snapshots

  • Old Revisions of Document Objects

Merging

When merging a branch back to the origin project, Document Object changes in the branch are added to the origin. If any conflicts exist between changes in the origin and the branch, they will be displayed to you and you can decide which version to use (i.e. the origin change or the branch change.

Note that the following elements are not merged back to the origin:

  • Test Runs

  • Signatures

  • Trace Tables

  • Queries

  • Charts

  • Tags

  • Locked Document Objects

  • Snapshots

  • Reviews

  • Users and User Groups

Note that the branch project still exists after merging. Although it is possible to continue working on the branch and merge additional changes back to the origin, only changes after the last merge occasion will be considered during a subsequent merge.